top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDelaney Read

Fighting The Funk!

Yuck! We've all been there. We've all seen things from rain-rot and that weird stuff on their back legs that just won't go away. I thought I'd share a couple of tips and tricks with you guys that seem to work for Coco. Right now, Florida is in our rainy season and it's always humid out, which is the perfect time for all of those skin issues to hit us all at once. Can I get a hip-hip-hooray? I didn't think so, and I don't blame you. 1. So usually I like to wash Coco's legs. A LOT. Even If I don't give him a full-on bath, I'll just hose him off and clean his legs. I use Hibiclens on his legs or face (or anywhere with funk). I get Hibiclens at CVS. It's perfect for Coco because It's gentle enough for his skin but tough enough to fight any gunk he might have. Hibiclens fights germs and bacteria for up to 24 hours after washing and it's still gentle enough for daily use. The active ingredient is chlorhexidine which is used in hospitals for pre and post-surgery.

2. I also like to use Coat Defense Daily Preventative Powder for his legs and face. I use the preventative powder after I wash his legs as an added layer of protection and to aid in treatment. Just like Hibiclens, this product is also really gentle and doesn't dry up his skin too much. I've used products before that can make his skin too dry and then he'll get dandruff so finding that balance for him is important.

3. CLEAN YOUR BRUSHES. I know its a pain, but trust me. It does help. Bacteria can live in your bushes just as easily as it can on your horse's coat so just make sure they're clean so that they can do their job. To clean my brushes, I like to use the effervescent brush cleaner called Brush Therapy. It kills bacteria in the brushes and gets all the dirt out. All you have to do is drop your brushes in warm water for 8 minutes and ta-da! They're clean! Easy and effective. I used to get mine at Dover, but they're more expensive there. Now I get them from Riding Warehouse because they're significantly cheaper.



Image By - Riding Warehouse - Brush Therapy

104 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page