top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDelaney Read

How to Clean a Gray...

Ok I get it. Can anybody REALLY get a gray horse clean? Maybe not shiny gleaming white for more than a day, because scientifically their coats attract all the dirt and sand in the field. Am I right? But we can sure try our best. Here's what I do...


Part One

Step One:

I've found that the best way to get that dirt off my boy is with the good ol' curry. I have a few different ones, but my favorite is the Hands On grooming gloves. I don't know exactly how, but I swear they curry his coat better than a normal curry. I also use them when I bathe him. A real 2 in 1! If I have the time, I like to spend the majority of my grooming routine currying. It really helps get out the dirt deep in his coat and gets his natural oils going.



Step 2: (If poop stains are present)

Coco is known for sleeping with his poop pillow at night. So, this is daily for me. To get rid of any stains on him, I use Tigers Tongue and/or Myst Dry Shampoo. Tigers Tongue is literally the best thing ever. It looks like a sponge, but somehow this is a magical sponge that can get rid of stains without any product. Plus, its cheap!! The Myst Dry Shampoo works well on both manure stains and dirt. Coco has really sensitive skin and that's why I prefer to use the Myst Dry Shampoo over other stain removers.





Step 3:

Finally, brush all of his hair flat and get any of the remaining dirt off with a standard dandy brush and finish with any necessary touch ups! (I have Saucy Piaffe brushes that are super cute!) I also like to brush out his tail with a dandy brush if I'm in a hurry just too get it fluffed up.



Step 4:

I usually rinse him off everyday to help get dirt off and also because he's always sweaty (which I'm very grateful for because a horse that doesn't sweat is no bueno)! After I rinse him, I put Myst Coat Elxir on to 1.) help his skin and coat healthy and 2.) to help repel dirt.



Part Two

Body:

As for bathing, I try to keep it as simple as possible. I use Equishield Aloe and Oatmeal Shampoo, because he tends to get REALLY dry skin. I got mine from the vet, so I attached one I found after a quick web search. I also use my Hands On gloves to rub in the shampoo. Thats all I do for his coat other than applying more Myst.


Tail:

For his tail, I'll dilute the Equishield shampoo into a bucket and dunk his tail in the water. Then I use Herbal Essences Conditioner because it helps whiten his tail since it's blue and (call me crazy) it's been making his tail thicker. So shoutout to my girl Andrea for helping me find a good conditioner that won't break the bank!


Products

Tigers Tongue from SmartPak

Myst Dry Shampoo from Myst Equine

Myst Coat Elxir from Myst Equine

Engraved Brushes from Saucy Piaffe

Herbal Essences Conditioner from Target

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page